1. Why don't you Sign Up? It's free and doesn't require anything special.
    We are a friendly community and you might be much smarter than you think.
    Don't just look at us. We need YOUR help. Let's build together the next big High IQ Society.
Dismiss Notice
This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

earthpet-Greetings and introduction

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by earthpet, Jun 18, 2017.

1. earthpet

earthpet New Member Claimed IQ: 150+

Hello all current and future visitors,

I'm Charles L. Peden (a.k.a. earthpet). I'm a member of the Glia Society and a fan/supporter of Paul Cooijmans and his work. I live and work in Texas. I'm married with two grown kids and one grown step-daughter. I have an Associate of Arts degree from Tarrant County College and I am currently working as a courier while I study Python computer programming.

A long time ago I used to want to own my own business. But once I actually started a business I discovered how much I really hate it. It turned out what I really wanted was to simply have a lot of money. I've also discovered that when it comes to investing I have almost supernaturally bad timing. But when it comes to education I discovered that I LOVED college so much that my wife insisted I quit school and get a job lest she would have to support me for eternity.

So, at age 52, I'm in the midst of changing careers-yet again-and attempting to redefine myself as a computer programmer. This is a bit ironic because my dad was a systems manager at the phone company when I was growing up. I first played with computers in the early 1970s before Apple and Microsoft even existed. I wish the seven year old me could have seen the potential in punch cards and mag tape!