1. Why don't you Sign Up? It's free and doesn't require anything special.
    We are a friendly community and you might be much smarter than you think.
    Don't just look at us. We need YOUR help. Let's build together the next big High IQ Society.
Dismiss Notice
This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Teaching people with an average IQ

Discussion in 'Work and Education' started by Nico, Jun 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Nico

Nico Active Member IQ: 140+

I have been giving private lessons for the last two years to several students. In my limited experience I some really smart students, but also some that weren't.

I noticed, that I have trouble being a good teacher to average students. The problem is, that I sometimes do not know, what exactly they do not understand. They do never complain, but I notice, when someone does not understand what I just said. Often they are not able to tell me what they did not understand. Then I go back to the fundamentals of the subject, but this can be a problem, because it is to easy and they get bored. I do not think, that I am a bad teacher, but it just feels like I could do better.

Does this get better with more experience?

I also noticed, that some students just forget things really fast. Which means, if you want them to learn it, they have repeat something a lot of times. How can you get students to repeat something several times, without losing their interest in the subject?

2. Creedinger

Creedinger Well-Known Member IQ: 120+

Which subject(s) do you teach? How old are your students?

In case your student is afraid to tell you what he/she does not understand then it is most important to lower their fear of being ridiculed.

Ask them? In case you experience that they do not understand what you say you need to say it in more simple terms or define the words you are saying.